Quick F/x: Jorge Sosa is back

Do you remember Jorge Sosa? He was a pitcher for the Devil Rays and Braves back in the day. He has recently spent time with the Mets, Mariners and Astros, before joining the Nationals. Oh yes, the Nationals are desperate for bullpen help.

Now is the perfect time to debut the newest version of my Pitch F/x flight paths. Thanks to Harry Pav for creating the first template, and answering my questions last night when I was updating it.
sosa_fp_8-02-09.pngThe plate/strike zone are for reference, and should not be treated as perfect. However, they should be pretty close. Click on image to enlarge.

The fastball/slider combo is solid, and he’s still throwing in the low 90’s. He has never been much for controlling his pitches, so it’s no surprise the pitches are over the plate. However, the slider stayed low, so it’s not too bad.
Congrats, Nationals, you have yourself an average pitcher.
6 Responses to Quick F/x: Jorge Sosa is back

  1. Mike Rogers says:

    Zach, it’s like you’re in my head. I was thinking the other day when I was making some flight path graphs that the bird’s eye needs a “plate” and 1st base needs a “height zone” reference. Love this addition, so much. Kudos.

  2. Zach Sanders says:

    Thanks, Mike. If you want the template, let me know and I can send it along.

  3. Matt Sisson says:

    New template looks good Zach!

  4. theraysparty says:

    It makes understanding the flight path soooo much easier.
    What is the distance of that white dot representing the back of homeplate?

  5. Zach Sanders says:

    The white dot isn’t representing the back of home, it was the third flight path that was on there before I took it off, but the point stayed on the graph. Won’t be there in future.

  6. Mike Rogers says:

    Zach, I would LOVE the template if you’d be so kind. That would be amazing. If you click my name, my contact info is on the right side of my blog.

Leave a Reply

