Pitch F/X Year In Review

Well, the season is over, and I have planned to do a year-in-review audit of sorts for each team, using Pitch F/X data.  I wanted to briefly go over what I plan to do but primarily post this to ask you if there is anything that you would want to know about a team with this data.  I am literally at your command with this, since the point of a year in review series is not to benefit myself but rather to provide interesting information to the readers of this blog.
I am going to provide data for the major starting pitchers and bullpen players as well as the general starting lineup.  I am not going to include bench players or role players who lack sufficient data, not because I have anything against them, but, well, they have a much smaller sample size of data.  Likewise, I’m not planning on including players that nobody really cares about in terms of information.  I sincerely doubt anyone will be upset when Eric Bruntlett is not included in the Phillies audit.
With that in mind, my goal is to provide information for both pitchers and hitters alike, involving the frequency of pitches seen in different situations–such as nobody on, men on, runners in scoring position, two outs, etc.  Also, the average velocity on these pitches, perhaps movement, as well as a standard deviation approach to release points for pitchers to see who was most/least consistent and where others ranked.  Outside of that, I am still formulating ideas, but since this is designed to benefit readers and provide interesting information, please either comment here or e-mail me at seidburns850@aol.com with anything involving this dataset that would interest you.  Thanks.

One Response to Pitch F/X Year In Review

  1. dan says:

    I think it will be easier to give suggestions after you do the first one (for me at least). But when you inevitably get to the Yankees, I’d like to see what you think of curves and sliders low and away to A-Rod. My dad is convinced that like 75% of his K’s are on sliders in the dirt, but I don’t think it’s nearly that bad.

Leave a Reply

