'Statistically Speaking' Mission Statement

As the 2008 season gets underway Pizza Cutter and I wanted to let all of our readers know what to expect from our sabermetrics post.

8 Responses to 'Statistically Speaking' Mission Statement

  1. Shane says:

    Sounds great. I look forward to the new content.

  2. I look forward to your looking forwardness.

  3. I look forward to having something to read so I am not bored at work 🙂

  4. All of the upcoming content sounds really interesting, and I’m especially looking forward to the GM evaluations (yes, even the Steve Phillips one).
    I would love to participate in the roundtable at some point.

  5. Tommy Rancel says:

    Keep up the great work.

  6. Thanks everyone. If anyone has suggestions for GM’s or players to do career profiles of let me know. With GM’s I don’t want to do EVERYONE but rather people whose careers or tenures with a certain team are done. Like I wouldn’t want to do Kenny Williams because he’s still there, but Ed Wade with the Phillies could be done, or Gord Ash with the Blue Jays, etc.
    As far as players, a couple that I have in mind are Jim Abbott, Fred McGriff, and Walt Weiss.

  7. I think a Walt Jocketty or Terry Ryan profile would be very interesting. The Cardinals and Twins were often looked at as the antithesis of “Moneyball” by the mainstream media, and I would be curious to see the accuracy of that perception.

  8. Jessica, one of the articles that inspired me to do a GM evaluation was written over at Baseball Analysts which evaluated Terry Ryan. What I’m planning on doing with mine is different than that analysis because there are numerous things that need to be taken into account when evaluating moves – for instance, not re-signing David Ortiz when nobody knew how amazing he would become, when he was still cheap, is different than not being able to re-sign Johan Santana who would cost a ton of money.
    With the GM analysis I plan on using Win Shares to judge the differential in results of the trade, as well as how well the free agent signings turned out, by specific position, as well as key draft picks, how players not re-signed compared to their replacements, etc.
    Jocketty I could do, though I wouldn’t to recreate Levitt’s work on Ryan. His results showed that, by Win Shares, Ryan’s moves had an overall effect of +201. Since 3 Win Shares = 1 Win, Ryan came close to a net result of 70 extra wins during his tenure.

Leave a Reply

