The Truth About the Grounder

I have a new article up on the Hardball Times:
The Truth About the Grounder
Check it out.

5 Responses to The Truth About the Grounder

  1. Robby Bonfire says:

    David-
    Your findings seem to validate my long-time held belief that a straight “Run Average” for pitchers far exceeds ERA as a valid gauge of ability. I don’t mean to put words in your mouth, how do you see it – ERA vs. Run Average, on merit?

  2. David Gassko says:

    I prefer RA. There is merit to ERA, but there are too many problems with defining what is and isn’t an error. I just don’t think ERA does enough to adjust for defense to warrant being used. In Pitching Runs Created, I use RA.

  3. Robby Bonfire says:

    Yes, the home town scoring on “error vs. hit” decisions are ludicrous, so often. And it seems it is the pitchers who get the short-end of controversial decisions, more often, making a joke of the ERA stat.

  4. Sky says:

    This was one of my favorite articles from the past couple weeks. Maybe because the conclusions are so obvious, yet overlooked. Keep up the great work.

  5. David Gassko says:

    Thanks. I’ll do my best.

Leave a Reply

