Wait — What?!

So I decided to play around with the metric I introduced about a week ago, which is, to remind you A/(A+E) for infielders. I’m calling modified fielding%. Well guess what? When I ran the correlations between mF% and Zone Rating for 2005, I got the following results:
2B = .87
3B = .85
SS = .85
Seriously. What?! Either there’s some kind of obvious problem I haven’t thought of here, or we have a spectacular way to measure infielders, especially those without PBP data available. I mean, seriously, look at those numbers. They’re practically perfect. I don’t believe it. Honestly, I just don’t. Clearly, Excel is just lying to me.
More to come.

Leave a Reply

