A Call to Arms

If you’ve been reading StatSpeak for a while now like the rest of the world, you’ve probably noticed some turnover in the past year or so. A blog that was at one point written only by Pizza Cutter expanded to include some of the bigger names in sabermetrics, such as Eric Seidman, Colin Wyers, Brian Cartwright, and Matt Swartz (vote for Matt and Brian!). Sometimes relative unknowns at the time they started here, these guys have since moved on to sites like The Hardball Times, Baseball Prospectus, FanGraphs, and even done consulting for Major League teams and players. While StatSpeak is proud to have such a strong alumni list, which you can read in full in Pizza’s Valedictory, we must constantly be searching for new people to fill the void left by talented writers moving on to other things. As you can see, I’m still here ;)

With that, I am putting out a call to the readers of Statistically Speaking, asking for your help. We would all like to keep this blog going full time, and it will be a difficult task to do once Matt undoubtedly wins BP Idol. So if you are interested in writing for StatSpeak, send me an email at dcn29@cornell.edu. Don’t post your interest in the comments section, because I have no way of contacting you if you do so. This isn’t a formal application or anything like that, and there aren’t any qualifications you must have, except for a passion for baseball. Also, as you can probably tell, the schedule here is pretty flexible, so don’t let that be a concern.

All you have to do is tell me your name and that you’re interested, but feel free to point me to any of the work you’ve done in the past, or even write a sample post (neither of these things are required in your email). I’ll get back to each person as soon as I can with further instructions.

I’ve been working on a list of writers that I have found to be interesting, but I’m 100% sure that there are talented people out there that haven’t been exposed yet. If you want to write for a respected blog with a wide readership of intelligent baseball fans, this could be your chance.

3 Responses to A Call to Arms

  1. Pizza Cutter says:

    Where do I sign up? This looks like a pretty awesome place.

  2. Dan Novick says:

    What makes you think we’d want you?

  3. Mary says:

    Pretty cool post. I just came across your blog and wanted to say
    that I have really enjoyed browsing your posts. In any case
    I’ll be subscribing to your blog and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

